Facebook gets rid of setting that lets users control who can search for them

October 11, 2013, 1:52 PM

Facebook has finally gotten rid of a privacy setting that used to let users control who can search for them on the social network.

The Menlo Park, Calif.-based company FB  said it has eliminated a setting called “Who can look up for Timeline by name?” — which used to allow users to control “whether you could be found when people typed your name into the Facebook search bar.”

Facebook announced last year it was getting rid of the feature for people who weren’t using it. “For the small percentage of people still using the setting, they will see reminders about it being removed in the coming weeks,” Michael Richter, the company’s chief privacy officer, wrote in a blog post.

So what’s the best way to control who can and cannot find you on Facebook?

Just “choose the audience of the individual things you share,” Richter wrote. Users can also reset who can see past posts.

The change comes as Facebook is known to be exploring new ways to make money from its enormous base of more than a billion users mainly through online advertising.

Some analysts have speculated that one way Facebook will look to grow is to allow for broader search capabilities on the social network.

Facebook competes with Google Inc. GOOG , which dominates the online ad market. It could face more pressure in that space from Twitter TWTR , the other giant of social media, which is expected to go public later this year.

– Benjamin Pimentel

Link…

http://blogs.marketwatch.com/thetell/2013/10/11/facebook-gets-rid-of-setting-that-lets-users-control-who-can-search-for-them/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s